Home / Weightbenchesolympic /

Bowflex Dumbbells SelectTech Dumbbell Stand 552 AND 1090 P90X Review

Bowflex Dumbbells SelectTech Dumbbell Stand 552 AND 1090 P90X Review

by DMP

WATCH THIS BEFORE YOU BUY! A balanced review of the Bowflex 552 Dumbbells with P90X and 1090. I show some of the drawbacks When doing P90X and with the Bowflex SelectTech dumbbells. For more fitness and nutrition tips, visit our website at MySymFitness.com Give us a “Like” on Facebook at http Thanks for watching! mysymfitness.com Check out my P90X nutrition plan That I used to burn 37 pounds of fat in 6 months: P90X Nutrition mysymfitness.com Bowflex Dumbbells

Share this article

Comments

  • fat9897
    May 2, 2012

    I have a brand new boxed set of these for sale, 552 version will happily take £260 and post them to you, if anyones interested? 07920445026 or n-q@mail.com

  • cakershake
    May 2, 2012

    wow i thought you were gonna snap a wrist at 2:44! Is there any need to twist your wrist so much?

  • dovendoneve
    May 2, 2012

    haha… wait till they go to college and u will realize that they are actually a much more expensive alternative!

  • timbohimbo
    May 2, 2012

    very helpful, thanks!
    

  • MartinModern
    May 2, 2012

    Best review I’ve seen on youtube about these dumbbells hands down, great ending by the way. Keep your kids happy =]

  • JosephMcCantry
    May 2, 2012

    Flawless review! I wish I was the person who invented those adjustable weights. I could pay someone to carry me away after a round of p90x.

  • shayorshayorshayor
    May 2, 2012

    thanks for that unbiased review. i have these large 20inch wide dumbbells and they are really wide to alot of exercises. will buying one of these help? i am looking for better use dumbbells and was thinking about getting individual short dumbbell? so …

  • harumachi1582
    May 2, 2012

    Hello there! Have you heard about the Fat Blast Furnace (google it)? Ive heard some incredible things about it and my work buddy burned plenty of useless fat.

  • syzerP9
    May 2, 2012

    Great review , exactly what I needed to help me decide which one to buy, thx alot I’m gna get the 1090.

  • SymbioticFitness
    May 2, 2012

    Thanks man

  • SymbioticFitness
    May 2, 2012

    No.. first, I’ve had mine for over a year and have no issues. 2nd, these things are so popular and retain their resale value.. you can find used ones on craigslist… if they were so weak and breaking easily, they wouldn’t still be selling and reselling them.

  • SymbioticFitness
    May 2, 2012

    Thanks man.. I appreciate that… yeah, with a little thought, time and effort, it’s not too bad! :)

  • NealKoke05
    May 2, 2012

    good review man, I started P90x with an adjustable pair of dumbells, 20 & 30 lbs and of course this was not enough variety. So i memorized the chest and back, shoulders and arms, legs and back workouts and used the weights at the gym to perform these routines. I am about to enter phase 2 and It would be a lot easier for me to buy these weights rather than memorize the upper body workouts in phase 1 and go to the gym. So thanks again!

  • NFLfilmsfanclub
    May 2, 2012

    VERY WELL DONE. Finally, someone doing professional like home you tube, videos. That are to the point and exactly what you need to know. Thanks again.

  • Magx
    May 2, 2012

    I heard they break easily (well, the dumbells, not the kids 😉 ) . Is that true ? did you this kind of problem(s) ? do they ‘sound’ weak (when your lifting them) ?

  • Quinn77Showtime
    May 2, 2012

    Hahahaha ending was awesome … I have a 4 yr old and he tries to work out with me. Hearing your kids laughing made my day lol

  • SymbioticFitness
    May 2, 2012

    haha.. I meant that if you already had kids and you couldn’t afford new 552s/1090s, then just use the kids you have as a cheap alternative.

  • SymbioticFitness
    May 2, 2012

    I don’t see how that can happen.. sounds untrue. When you lift them up (doing a bench press), the weights are hanging on the bar, it seems almost impossible for them to fall off. You’ll see what I mean when you use them. When you’re doing a bench press, the plates are like an upside down U that is hanging on the handle.. so they can’t really fall off.

  • norcovpssix1
    May 2, 2012

    since when are kids a low cost alternative? pretty sure they cost a hell of alot more then these weights do

  • ldnguyen45
    May 2, 2012

    Just bought a pair of the 552 but haven’t had a chance to use it yet. One question I have is that I’ve read before where the weights came off and broke the red plastic part as they were working out (some getting hit in the face while bench pressing). Is it better to always keep the red plastic part facing up while doing any routine to put the least stress on the weights and prevent this from occurring? Any advice would help.

  • favz1
    May 2, 2012

    Hey.. I have those “other” adjustable weights too!

  • SymbioticFitness
    May 2, 2012

    @Patamath87 Hmm Cheap Table and 180lbs worth of weights on it… doesn’t sound like a good idea. Especially if it’s cheapo walmart table :)

  • SymbioticFitness
    May 2, 2012

    Awesome.. glad it helped.

  • SymbioticFitness
    May 2, 2012

    I don’t think so.. I think they would break.

  • astraz4
    May 2, 2012

    Can you use them as push up bars? or will they break?

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>